2013-01-13 Holy Sunday: Église de la Madeleine Church (Paris)

Used 2013-01-13 Madeleine (Paris Paul Prescott) C360_2012-05-06-13-49-004ab Used

Église de la Madeleine Church

Place de la Madeleine
75008 Paris

_____________________________________

NEW to Paris By Cell Phone! I am now taking requests! Is there something Parisian you would love to see on your computer screen? Send me your request at Paris.Paul.Prescott@gmail.com and I’ll hook you up!

Or, if you have taken a picture of Paris on your cell phone and would like to show it off to the world, why not do it here? It doesn’t have to be super artistic–there are enough photo sites of Paris as it is–just taken with a mobile phone and that’s all!

Please send a copy of your photograph to Paris.Paul.Prescott@gmail.com and I’ll let you know when it’ll be posted.

Thanks so much for your help!

Paris Paul

Please feel free to check out my Paris Inspired fiction here

4 thoughts on “2013-01-13 Holy Sunday: Église de la Madeleine Church (Paris)

  1. I love how black it is between the pillars, looking like it is going into a complete and utter void. (hee hee) The Eglise de la Madeleine is one where I have to say I find the outside more impressive than the inside. Just really not that memorable inside, IMO, and it is rather dark and “heavy” to me. Photos online make it seem brighter than I remember. Maybe I was just there on a bad-weather day! Could be. I do like its history, though. Once a temple to the glory of Napoléon’s army, heh! More evidence of his tiny man syndrome, methinks, lol. Oh interesting, I also just learned there used to be a synagogue on the site! (12th century) That’s one part I forgot about.

    Wow — it was also the place where Louis XVI’s body was taken after beheading, and he was buried with quicklime under the church with his head at his feet. (He was later dug up and reburied at St. Denis.)

    So interesting. Creepy, too. Maybe that is why I get a bad vibe about that place. Lots of dark history there.

    xx
    K

Leave a comment